Quick Review – Empire of Liberty

Empire of Liberty: A History of the Early Republic, 1789-1815Empire of Liberty: A History of the Early Republic, 1789-1815 by Gordon S. Wood

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

For anyone going through United States history, this should be the first book they pick up after reading their choice of books covering the time leading up to and including the Revolutionary War. Empire of Liberty is the most comprehensive book covering this time period that I have come across. My interest leans towards the political history of the United States but Mr. Wood touches on every part if the time period’s society and to my surprise I thoroughly enjoyed it. Like many of David McCullough’s and Joseph J. Ellis’ book on the Revolutionary time period, I will be listening or reading this book over and over.

View all my reviews >>

Leave a Reply

